<![CDATA[SubRay - Blog]]>Wed, 24 Feb 2016 21:16:28 -0800Weebly<![CDATA[A look back: Subray's Development History]]>Thu, 17 Jul 2014 04:52:09 GMThttp://subraygame.weebly.com/blog/a-look-back-subrays-development-history
For a mobile-friendly version of this timeline, click read more.
May 2013: Seth, Stan, and Jordan start development on prototyping and core systems of the engine.

June 2013: Hiago is added to the team, tasked with integrating his Graphics library into the engine.

July 2013: Aaron joins and begins concepting out the art style.

September 2013: Engine proof presentation is put together showcasing the tech with an impressive audio-visual dance shown below.

October 2013: Prototype presentation introduces the sonar and stealth mechanics, as well as a surprise.

November 2013: Lubertazzi is picked up for gameplay, and then gradually transitioned to tech and tools.

December 2013: Environment and budding gameplay moments are showcased in the first playable build.

March 2014: Sopko starts working on level creation and design.

April 2014: SubRay goes to GDC along with a new trailer.

May 2014: SubRay is submitted for the school year at Gold!

June 2014: Aaron, Seth, and Sopko continue SubRay polish and content creation for PAX and IndieCade.


July 2014: SubRay demo is officially released with a final and development halts due to lack of resources (Link to post).
]]>
<![CDATA[Gold Trailer]]>Fri, 18 Apr 2014 03:58:12 GMThttp://subraygame.weebly.com/blog/gold-trailer
Team Atmos is proud to present our Gold Milestone trailer. SubRay has been in development for over a year now and we're excited to continue working on it into the summer.
]]>
<![CDATA[GDC 2014 Trailer]]>Wed, 19 Mar 2014 16:10:42 GMThttp://subraygame.weebly.com/blog/gdc-2014-trailer
Just in time for GDC 2014, we're proud to show you a new trailer for SubRay marking our progress since Pre-Alpha. We're now nearing content completion: showcasing an intro, all-new levels, a new boss fight, and an ending sequence. Stay tuned for more updates in the future as we continue development!
]]>
<![CDATA[Pre-Alpha Trailer]]>Fri, 14 Mar 2014 09:02:25 GMThttp://subraygame.weebly.com/blog/pre-alpha-trailer
Pre-Alpha marked SubRay's progress before winter break and the turn of the New Year. Our visual fidelity increased ten-fold from Prototype Milestone, and we started to flesh out our world even more.
]]>
<![CDATA[Dev Bloopers]]>Fri, 14 Mar 2014 08:59:54 GMThttp://subraygame.weebly.com/blog/dev-bloopers
During our level creation phase, flipped collision normals made their appearance in our spline-interpolated geometry quite often. We thought they were harmless, but one such flipped normal served to break the heart of a small lonely charger enemy.

...All he wanted was a hug.
]]>
<![CDATA[Ability Concepts]]>Fri, 14 Mar 2014 08:55:21 GMThttp://subraygame.weebly.com/blog/ability-concepts
Our very talented Concept and Game Artist, Annabelle Bowie, began preliminary work on the weapon modules you would pick up during the game. 

Some of these modules have't made it into the current design, but are still great concepts that helped solidify the visual design of our sub.
]]>
<![CDATA[Prototype Gameplay]]>Fri, 14 Mar 2014 08:50:57 GMThttp://subraygame.weebly.com/blog/prototype-gameplay
Our second game presentation, shown at the Prototype milestone, came only a few short weeks after Engine Proof. At this stage the game was now playable, some minor bugs and glitches notwithstanding. 3D positional sound, improved graphical effects, and the start of the sonar behavior were implemented along with many other additions.

This milestone also marks the beginning of our teases for the first boss.
]]>
<![CDATA[Audio Visualizer]]>Fri, 14 Mar 2014 08:47:14 GMThttp://subraygame.weebly.com/blog/audio-visualizer
While our Engine Proof demo showed a lot of peaceful and tranquil things, concept work needed to be done on the later portions of the game, where things get much more twisted and hostile. This audio visualizer demo was put together by Seth Weedin in an attempt to create that atmosphere.
]]>
<![CDATA[Engine Proof]]>Fri, 14 Mar 2014 08:42:07 GMThttp://subraygame.weebly.com/blog/engine-proof
Engine Proof was the first time people really saw SubRay. This short non-interactive engine demo showcases a lots of tech, from particle systems and glow/lighting shaders, to beat syncing and layered music.
]]>
<![CDATA[Early Audio Concepts]]>Fri, 14 Mar 2014 08:40:09 GMThttp://subraygame.weebly.com/blog/early-audio-concepts
These tracks date back to when the game wasn't fully realized visually. Seth Weedin composed and produced them to help the team get a strong feel for the atmosphere we were shooting for.
]]>